Final gold paint. Still need to dark wash crevasses and clear coat.

Working With Worbla: King Loki Build – Helmet

In preparation for the King Loki cosplay build, the helm was one of the pieces that intimidated me the most. That thing is crazy detailed and those horns! I thought about it for weeks and researched like crazy. I found some other creators on the interwebs (most notably Eldritch ArtsSithcamaro and Timbo’s Creations) and who had posted their excellent work. The thing I realized quickly was I preferred the look of the helms that had been sculpted. I’m not a sculptor and wasn’t ready to tackle yet another new medium for this project so I finally decided I’d do something similar to Timbo’s and start with a foam base and build it up from there.

Sometime later I was at Goodwill looking around for random stuff (you never know what discarded item you may find that can be tuned into something cool) and I saw one of these:

i-blacksilver

Easton Batting Helmet

It’s hard to tell because of the photo’s angle but something about the shape reminded me of the Loki helm. (I forgot to take picture of the actual helmet but this is a stock photo of the exact model.) It hit me that maybe basing the Loki helm on a preexisting helmet would be a better place to start. So I bought the helmet for $6 and the rest follows.

The more I studied the batting helmet in comparison to Loki’s Avengers helm I realized the dome shape of the batting helmet was much rounder than the Loki’s more squared off Helm. I really try to strive for screen accuracy but quickly realized that I would have to modify the overall look of my build if I was going to stick with the batting helmet base. What I ended up with is a helm that copies the main lines of the Avengers helm and actually takes on a bit of the style of the Thor style helm. Yup, his helm is actually different between the two films. This picture isn’t the best but it get the point across:

Helms

When I started modifying the batting helmet I was in a bit of a rush so I didn’t take photos to being with. My progress photos start with the batting helmet already cut down and heavily modified. Besides removing the bill I also chopped out a part of the midsection, pretty much the whole part that is painted silver to compress the profile of the forehead.

This post is not meant to be an exact how-to guide. What you’ll find is a whole bunch of progressive photos of the build and painting prep process. I’m not done with the final painting. The photos stop at the first base paint layer. I’ll add the painting photos when I’m done and satisfied. Thanks for reading this far. If you have questions please feel free to ask in the comments section.

If you liked this post you can see my work in progress over at my Facebook page: Coregeek Cosplay and Creations which I update regularly as I build. I write these longer build posts after the project is finished. I’d appreciate you “liking” my page while you are there.

LokibyAzimedes

Final helm and costume. Photo by Azimedes Photography http://azimedes.deviantart.com

15 comments

  1. Amazing! I love it so much. This really helped me a lot since I’m cosplay as Loki and I had done a TON of research for his helmet. I finally found this, thank you! I was just wondering, for the baseball helmet. How should I cut it?

    1. I’m glad this has been helpful. I cut the helmet with a saber (jig) saw and a fine tooth blade. It’s fairly thick plastic so not sure what else would work if you don’t have a saw. Not sure what your level of experience is but doing it this way is definietly more of an advanced build. If I were to do it again I’d probably start with a foam base helmet to build off of. Evil Ted posted this video after I built mine but I think the hemet base he shows how to build in this video would work pretty great. http://youtu.be/ODSNPYdvJRo

    1. The main material is Worbla. It can be purchased online from CosplaySupplies.com
      I carved the horns from rigid pink insulation foam (sold as Insulpink at Home Depot) and covered them in Worbla. A similar insulation product is sold at Lowes and is blue in color.
      Also used is a little bit of Bondo (found at Lowe’s or any automotive parts shop) and Elmer’s Wood Filler again found at Lowe’s of Home Depot.

  2. Amazing – I am super impressed!! Here is a quick question with regards to using Worbla for helmet building: do you always start with a base helmet (something purchased) instead of creating a helmet from Worbla alone? I ask because I’ve just completed a Captain America helmet that I did out of Worbla alone – it was super tough to get the shape right without any base to start with. The problem was – helmet ‘bases’ I tried were too big/round/just the wrong shape in general. I’m totally new at this, so I just tried what I thought might work.

    1. I’ve done other helmets, but not with worbla. The Loki helmet was the first thing I ever made with worbla. I’ve always started with a pre-made base first. You can really use just about anything. I even used a plastic kettle made for collecting halloween candy for a helmet base. I find it easier because you’re starting with something that has an even shape to begin with. Like you said though it can be though to find an object in the correct shape. That being said I may try my hand at a scratch build someday. Mostly because I found this great video which explains how to build a helmet with EVA foam.

      Ted really knows his stuff you should check it out.

      Thanks for contacting me. I’d like to see pics of the helmet you built. Do you have any posted somewhere? If not no biggie.

      -Eric

Leave a Reply

